DWI Lawyer in College Station, TX, Representing Individuals Charged With Alcohol-Related Driving Offenses
Have you been arrested in College Station, TX, for driving while intoxicated? It is imperative that you obtain a skilled criminal defense attorney who can provide the legal representation that you need to protect both your driving privileges as well as your future, and your reputation.
Driving while intoxicated is a serious criminal charge in the state of Texas. If you are convicted of a DWI, you face the possibility of having your driver’s license suspended, mandatory jail time, as well as a steep fine.
If you have been arrested for DWI in Houston, Dallas, Austin, or a surrounding area, it is crucial that you call an experienced College Station, Texas, DWI defense lawyer immediately. According to the law, if your BAC levels were .08, then you can be arrested for DWI, whether or not you were intoxicated or impaired. For minors under 21 years of age, the BAC maximum is .02, and for commercial drivers, it is .04.
Many College Station DWI lawyers may promise results, but they lack the experience and necessary skills to provide positive outcomes for DWI cases. The Greening Law Group has a clear advantage over other criminal defense lawyers. Our founding attorney, Craig Greening, is a former prosecutor and has an insider’s perspective when it comes to understanding how the legal system in Texas operates. We believe that one of the key aspects of a strong defense is to first establish a strong attorney-client relationship with each of our clients.
Contact us and ask to schedule a free consultation to discuss your case. We will be happy to answer any questions that you may have, as well as explain your rights and legal options.
What are the Penalties for DWI in Texas?
It is important to remember that each individual case is different due to the unique circumstances and factors that surround your DWI arrest. However, in an effort to curb drunk driving, the state has taken measures to make DWI and DUI penalties harsher than ever. With each subsequent conviction, the chance for jail time increases as well as the potential for higher fines.
Penalties for First-Time DWI
Penalties for a first-time DWI in Texas include:
- Up to 180 days in jail
- Up to $2,000 in fines and penalties
Up to a one-year suspension of your driver’s license
Penalties for Second Offense DWI
If you are convicted of a second offense for DWI, the penalties go up significantly and include:
- One month to a year in jail
- Up to $4,000 in fines and penalties
- Up to a two-year suspension of your driver’s license
Penalties for Third Offense DWI
A third DWI conviction is extremely serious and could cause you to face serious time in prison and other penalties, which include:
- Two to 10 years in years in prison
- A $10,000 fine.
- Up to a two-year suspension of your driver’s license suspension
For repeat offenses, you may even be required to install an interlock ignition device at your own expense. In addition to the legal penalties, your insurer may increase your rates or even deny you coverage altogether. This could jeopardize your job opportunities if your line of work requires a valid vehicle license.
Penalties for a Minor Being in the Car
If you were arrested on DWI charges and you had a child in the car with you, the penalties become even steeper, with the potential to be incarcerated in state prison as well as hefty fines. The potential fines for driving while intoxicated with a child in the car include the following:
- Being charged with child endangerment if the child in question is under the age of 15 years old.
- A prison sentence of up to two years
- An additional fine of up to $10,000 on top of the other fines that you will be assessed by the court.
- Loss of your driver’s license for an additional 180 days on top of your other license suspension.
Do not try and defend your case on your own or without the help of a law firm that has skilled DWI attorneys on hand to represent you. Criminal law that surrounds DWI offenses can be extremely complex and impossible to navigate on your own. Contact us today to schedule a free consultation.
Can DWI Charges be Dismissed in Texas?
Some clients mistakenly believe that DWI charges cannot be dismissed in Texas. However, this is far from the truth. If this is your first DWI offense, you stand a much better chance of having your charges dropped with the assistance of a skilled DWI attorney on your side.
One of the key pieces of evidence that the prosecution uses to determine if they should pursue criminal charges is DWI breath or blood alcohol content tests that were performed at the time you were stopped or arrested. However, just like field sobriety tests, the police officer in question may not have performed these tests accurately. Failure to perform the tests accurately can cause them to be thrown out and inadmissible as evidence.
Some other common reasons that DWI charges may ultimately end up being dismissed also include:
- There was no probable cause for the initial traffic stop that led to your arrest.
- Challenging the probable cause that led to the warrant for the blood alcohol content (BAC) test
- Inconsistencies between the police dashcam or body camera, police report, or arresting officer’s testimony regarding the arrest.
Because of the complexities of DWI criminal law in Texas, it is highly recommended that you obtain a DWI lawyer with the legal experience necessary to closely examine your case and find any potential weaknesses that may allow your case to be dismissed. The Greening Law Group of Brazos County, Texas, has a vast amount of experience in analyzing cases and finding legal errors that can be a game-changer for our clients.
Will My Driver’s License be Suspended After Being Charged With a DWI?
If you have been arrested and charged with driving while intoxicated, contact our law offices as soon as possible. After being charged with DWI, the arresting officer will confiscate your driver’s license. You will be issued a temporary permit called Notice of Suspension, and a Temporary Driving Permit can also give you information about requesting an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing.
You must request an ALR hearing within 15 days of your arrest. Failure to do so can result in your license being suspended after a period of 40 days. During the hearing, an administrative judge will allow testimony from both the arresting officer and you or your lawyer. After hearing the testimony, the judge will make a legal ruling as to the length of the suspension.
If your license is suspended, you do have the right to file an appeal. However, the appeal must be filed within 30 days of the start of your suspension date. Tx DPS will reissue your driver’s license if the appeals court determines that the suspension should be reversed.
You may be eligible to obtain what is known as an Occupational license that allows you to travel back and forth to work and for other situations such as school or errands. In order to obtain an Occupational license, it will be necessary to petition the court and submit the proper forms.
It should be stated, however, that not everyone who applies for an Occupational License is automatically granted one. There may be a mandatory waiting period before you become eligible to qualify.
If you have been charged with a DWI in College Station, TX, one of the most important steps that you can take is to hire a qualified defense lawyer who can assist you in challenging your driver’s license suspension. A suspended license can cause you a great deal of stress and severely limit your ability to get to work and deal with the other aspects of your life, such as going to the grocery store or other errands that you take for granted.
Our law firm’s attorneys can assist you in several ways to help you keep your driver’s license. They include:
- Scheduling your ALR driver’s license suspension hearing within the appropriate amount of time
- Representing you at your ALR hearing and strongly advocating for you to be able to keep your license
- Appealing your driver’s license suspension
- Filing a petition and the necessary paperwork in order to obtain an occupational license
Why Choose Our DWI Defense Attorney?
When you work with our team, we take action immediately to investigate police records for any misconduct, scrutinize results from chemical tests, and more. As a former prosecutor, our lead criminal defense attorney in College Station, TX, has unique insight into how the state handles drunk driving cases.
- 26+ Years’ Trial-Tested Experience
- Former Prosecutor Fighting for You
- Proven DWI Defense Track Record
- Texas Board Certified in Criminal Law
In addition, we can also help if you were arrested on any of the following DWI charges:
- Intoxication manslaughter
- DWI assault
Call our team at The Greening Law Firm to discuss your case, and we can work with you to develop effective strategies to defend your charges. Our firm is led by an attorney who is extremely proficient in handling DWI cases and has scientific training in forensic chromatography, as well as the knowledge necessary to challenge DWI/DUI testing.
The state is already building its case against you, so do not wait to contact a lawyer. We can review the details of your arrest and your charges and let you know what your next steps should be.
We will review your case for FREE. Call (979) 596-4088 today to schedule a free consultation. You may also reach us through our website or via email.