College Station Lawyer Serving Houston, Austin & Waco
Free Consultation 979.596.4088
You Deserve the Best Possible Defense

College Station, TX Assault Lawyer

Trusted Legal Expertise From a Former Prosecutor

Assault is a common criminal charge in Texas and throughout the U.S. While other states have separate charges for assault and battery, in Texas these charges fall under the umbrella of assault only. Therefore, assault can be committed in various ways, including by threat with no actual physical contact between the parties involved. Assault charges can also range from low-level misdemeanors to felonies, depending on the situation.

Being charged with assault can result in penalties ranging from a fine to a lengthy prison term. In all cases, you will wind up with a permanent criminal record that can negatively impact your qualification for future life opportunities. Because of this, you need to ensure that you have top-quality legal representation in your corner as soon as possible. At The Greening Law Group, you can work with a former prosecutor who knows both sides of law and who has advanced to the rare status of a Texas Board-Certified Criminal Trial Lawyer. This translates to being a legal expert in his field, an achievement few Texas attorneys can claim.

Arrested for assault? Book a free case evaluation with The Greening Law Group online or at (979) 596-4088.

What Is Assault in Texas?

Assault is defined under Texas Penal Code § 22.01.as:

  • “intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly” causing bodily injury to another, including your spouse;
  • “intentionally or knowingly” threatening another with imminent bodily injury, including your spouse;
  • “intentionally or knowingly” causing physical contact with another when you know or should reasonably believe that the other person will regard it as offensive or provocative.

Bodily injury generally means that you caused some type of physical impairment or pain. In cases of simple assault, this could be a bruise or laceration. An injury that leads to a hospitalization is generally considered a “serious” bodily injury and is then elevated to an “aggravated” assault. A provocative or offensive contact generally is not a physical injury but an action that upsets, angers, or antagonizes the other person. This could include sexually suggestive actions, spitting, or poking the other person.

Misdemeanor Assault

If you threaten another with bodily injury without actually making physical contact or if you engage in an offense or provocative contact with the other person, you can be charged with a Class C misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $500.

If you commit assault against another during a sporting event, you can be charged with a Class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 180 days of jail time and a fine of up to $2,000.

If you commit assault, whether through bodily harm or an offensive/provocative contact, against an elderly person (a person 65 years of age or older), you can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $4,000.

Penalties in all these cases can include probation as well as restitution to the alleged victim.

Felony Assault

Third-degree felony assault is an action committed against public servants while on duty, security officers, firefighters, and more, as well as in domestic violence situations. It carries a prison term of up to 10 years and a fine of up to $10,000.

Second-degree felony assault can also be charged in domestic violence situations and for attempting to choke or strangle an alleged victim in these situations. It carries two years up to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.

An aggravated assault involves serious injury to the alleged victim or the use of a weapon in the assault. It can result in first-degree felony charges in domestic violence situations as well as when committed against law enforcement, emergency workers, security personnel, and more. First-degree felony assault carries five years up to life in prison along with a fine depending on the circumstances.

Family Violence - Domestic Assault

In Texas, any kind of physical altercation occurring in a domestic environment is known as family violence. The people involved don’t necessarily have to be related – they can be spouses, roommates, or anyone else who lives in the same space.

Legally, there is no distinct law that covers “domestic assault,” but there are circumstances for assault that specifically pertain to families and domestic situations. For example, someone can be arrested for assault if they “intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly” harm or cause bodily injury to their spouse.

This is especially pertinent as conflict between spouses is the most common form of domestic assault. Bodily injury and harm aren’t also the extent to which assault can be charged in a domestic situation – merely threatening bodily harm or causing physical contact with someone who considers it to be provocative or offensive can be enough.

Assault in a domestic situation can be aggravated when bodily harm against a family member or member of a domicile is harmed as a result of the use or exhibition of a deadly weapon. If you’ve been charged with Family Violence, don’t wait to call an experienced attorney at our firm.

Turn to Our Respected College Station, TX Assault Attorney for Outstanding Legal Help

Facing any type of assault charge can have serious consequences. That is why we strongly advise that you seek the experienced, professional representation you will find at The Greening Law Group. Your freedom and future may depend on the quality of your legal support. Facing the criminal justice system can be a stressful, uncertain, and an intimidating experience. Having the support of our firm can make the difference in how your case is decided. Take advantage of the high-powered advocacy and dedication we bring to every case where we pursue your best possible outcome.

Contact us online or at (979) 596-4088 for help today.